**Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics Duke University** Durham, NC March 9-10, 2015

> 2015 Annual Symposium Frontiers in Photonics, Science and **Technology**

> > featuring

## WORLD PHOTONICS FORUM

in celebration of the United Nations proclamation of

## The International Year of Light (IYL 2015)

Including special panel sessions on the influence and contribution of light-based technologies on science, human development, and global economic development for the next century

Symposium Keynote Theodor W. Hänsch, Ph.D. Nobel Laureate in Physics (2005) Max-Planck-Institut for Quantum Optics Carl Friedrich von Siemens Professor Chair, Faculty of Physics Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich Munich, Germany





Forum Keynot John Hall, Ph.D. Nobel Laureate in Physics (2005) JILA, University of Colorado National Institute of Standards and Technology Boulder, Colorado, USA



Plenary Lecture Prof. John M Dudley Chair, U.N. IYL2015 **Steering Committee** President, **European Physical Society** Univ. of Franche-Comté. Besançon, France



Plenary Lecture Prof. Federico Capasso Robert Wallace Professor of Applied Physics **Harvard University** 



Forum Special Lecture Dr. Eugene Arthurs CEO, SPIE Bellingham, USA



Forum Special Lecture Prof. Philip Russell President, OSA Director, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light Erlangen, Germany

**Invited Forum Panel Speakers** Prof. Silvia Bruni, University of Milan, Italy Dr. John Edmond CREE, USA

Prof. Andrew Forbes, CSIR National Laser Center, South Africa Prof. Cristina Kurachi, University of São Paulo, Brazil Dr. Robert Liebermann, SPIE, USA Prof. Ulderico Santamaria, The Vatican Museums, Italy Dr. Siavash Yazdanfar GE Global Research, USA

Dr. David Ward, Cisco, USA

UNIVERSIT

Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics

Register Now www.fitzpatrick.duke.edu Co-sponsored



INTERNATIONAL YEAR OF LIGHT